Task Force Formed to Rename Buildings


Over the summer, Nicholls announced the renaming of “PGT Beauregard Hall” and “Leonidas K. Polk Hall” along with some campus streets.

The renaming is a proactive move by the university to highlight the support for the growing diverse population on campus and in the Thibodaux area.

Many buildings on campus are named after influential members from Nicholls and the community. Beauregard and Polk, however, hold no significance to the university.

In an email sent out to the Nicholls community President Jay Clune announced the creation of a task force that will recommend names for the two buildings and campus streets.

The task force is composed of Nicholls students, faculty, staff, alumni and members of the community.

The renaming will hopefully foster a more inclusive learning and living environment on campus.

Updates will be given throughout the process of renaming, and feedback is encouraged from the campus community.

The task force members are as follows:


Tamera Castle
Tyler Legnon
Aarati Pant
Shepard Theriot


Lynn Kunkel
Elizabeth McCurry
Raymond Peters
Kathryn Waggenspack


Dr. Shaniece Bickham
Farren Clark
Chef Donald Kasten
Dr. Alyson Theriot


Dr. Allayne Barrilleaux
Dr. Kevin George
Henry Lafont
Katherine Mabile


Jeremy Becker (non-voting member)
Renee Brinkley
Timothy Bush
Matt Gresham
Dr. O. Cleveland Hill
Marguerite Knight