Men’s Southland Conference Tournament Preview


Photo by: Maggie Bychurch

Nicholls enters the Southland conference tournament as the number one seed and regular season Southland champions for the first time since 2018.  The Colonels went 14-2 in conference play and 17-6 overall.

Nicholls goes into the tournament with the Southland Conference Newcomer of the Year Ty Gordon and Coach of the Year Austin Claunch. Gordon was also selected to the first team All-Southland Conference first team.

Other Colonels who received honors were Kevin Johnson and Najee Garvin who were selected to the third team. Johnson was also named to the all-defensive team.

The winner of the tournament will receive an automatic bid into the NCAA Division 1 Men’s Basketball tournament.

Nine other teams will be vying for the conference championship and a spot in the NCAA tournament:

Abilene Christian (21-4, 13-2 SLC)
Abilene did not play Nicholls this season. The Wildcats defeated the Colonels in their lone matchup last season 79-61.

Sam Houston (19-8, 13-3 SLC)
1/2 @ Nicholls- W, 84-81

2/6 vs Nicholls- W, 78-71

Northwestern State (10-17, 9-7 SLC)
1/13 vs Nicholls- L 66-76

3/1 @ Nicholls- L 71-87

New Orleans (9-14, 8-7 SLC)
1/23 @ Nicholls- L, 62-86

2/27 vs Nicholls- L, 101-105 (OT)

Lamar (8-17, 6-10 SLC)
1/6 @ Nicholls- L, 69-76

2/10 VS Nicholls- L, 71-76

UIW (8-13, 5-9 SLC)
Incarnate Word did not play Nicholls this season. The Colonels defeated UIW last season by a score of 76-60.

Southeastern Louisiana (7-17, 5-10 SLC)
1/9 @ Nicholls- L, 67-87

2/13 vs Nicholls- L, 84-86 (OT)

McNeese (10-13, 4-10 SLC)
1/27 @ Nicholls- L, 69-76

3/4 vs Nicholls- L, 67-80

Houston Baptist (5-18, 4-11 SLC)
1/20 vs Nicholls- L, 83-92

2/24 @ Nicholls- L, 68-83 

Award Winners:

Player of the Year: Zach Nutall, Sam Houston

Defensive Player of the Year: David Muoka, Lamar

Freshman of the Year: Bryce Monroe, Sam Houston

Newcomer of the Year: Ty Gordon, Nicholls

Coach of the Year: Austin Claunch, Nicholls

2020-21 All-Southland Conference Men’s Basketball Teams

First Team Institution Pos. Class
Zach Nutall2 Sam Houston G Jr.
Gavin Kensmil2 Stephen F. Austin F Sr.
Kolton Kohl Abilene Christian C R-Sr.
Demarkus Lampley Sam Houston G Sr.
Ty Gordon Nicholls G Sr.
Second Team  Institution Pos. Class
Joe Pleasant2 Abilene Christian F Jr.
Keaston Willis UIW G So.
Cameron Johnson Stephen F. Austin G Sr.
Trenton Massner Northwestern State G Jr.
Damion Rosser New Orleans G R-Jr.

Third Team 




Rylan Bergersen2 Central Arkansas G Sr.
Roti Ware Stephen F. Austin G Sr.
Coryon Mason Abilene Christian G Sr.
Kevin Johnson Nicholls G Sr.
Najee Garvin Nicholls F R-Jr.
All-Defensive Team  Institution Pos. Class
David Muoka Lamar C So.
Damien Daniels Abilene Christian G Jr.
Reggie Miller Abilene Christian G Sr.
Kevin Johnson Nicholls G Sr.
Coryon Mason Abilene Christian G Sr.